Mundy

IT Knowledge Base

User Tools

Site Tools


time_machine_backups

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
time_machine_backups [2018/04/06 16:41]
Dan Mundy
time_machine_backups [2018/04/09 09:56] (current)
Line 7: Line 7:
  
 If you empty the Trash, the disk space is not freed up straight away. It won't be freed up until the Time Machine backup completes, because it's held temporarily by Time Machine'​s "local snapshots"​ (More info: [[https://​support.apple.com/​en-au/​HT204015|About Time Machine local snapshots - Apple Support]]) If you empty the Trash, the disk space is not freed up straight away. It won't be freed up until the Time Machine backup completes, because it's held temporarily by Time Machine'​s "local snapshots"​ (More info: [[https://​support.apple.com/​en-au/​HT204015|About Time Machine local snapshots - Apple Support]])
 +
 +To list all local snapshots:
 +
 +<​code>​tmutil listlocalsnapshots /</​code>​
  
 To delete all local snapshots: To delete all local snapshots:
time_machine_backups.txt · Last modified: 2018/04/09 09:56 (external edit)